36th Alfalfa and Stored Forages Conference Award Winners

The Kentucky Forage and Grassland Council honors outstanding accomplishments in alfalfa science and production to individuals in the public, industry and producer sectors. Recipients honored at the 36th Kentucky Alfalfa and Stored Forages Conference included:

Joey Brashear: Warren Thompson Industry Award

Mike and Jim Green: Charles Schnitzler Alfalfa Producer Award

Brandon Bell: Garry Lacefield Public Service Award

The Kentucky Dept. of Agriculture Forage Testing Program also honored individuals that produced high quality alfalfa and alfalfa/grass hay. Winners included John McCoy (Warren), Geralds Farm (Hart), Roy Reichenbach (Lincoln) Creekview Farm (Washington), Jim Green (Franklin), Woodland Place (Christian), Mark Thomas (Fleming), Simon Yoder (Todd), Michael Bale (Hart) and John Nowak (Christian). Forage Testing Program information can be found at http://www.kyarg.com.  The conference, held in Cave City on Feb. 21st was well attended by producers, agents and industry representatives. Full proceedings of the Conference are available at the UK Forage Extension Website.

~ Krista Lea